Dutch regional water authorities are democratic

In the Netherlands, the regional water authority is, just like a municipality or province, a governmental organisation with a democratically elected executive. This executive is called the Algemene Vergadering (General Assembly) and consists of 26 people. Each resident of the control area 18 years or older may vote once every four years. Some seats are reserved for special stakeholders.

The elected 'Algemene Vergadering' is the regional water authority’s highest administrative body, and takes the most important decisions. It meets once a month, and also appoints a daily executive known as the 'College van Dijkgraaf & Heemraden'. This board meets every week.

The elected 'Heemraden' (a council of four people) serves for a period of four years. The 'Dijkgraaf' (Dike Reeve) is the chairman, and he or she is appointed by the Dutch King for a period of six years. All residents and businesses pay taxes to enable the Zuiderzeeland Regional Water Authority to execute its tasks as fully as possible. After all, everyone has a stake in this. The water pollution levy is a tax used to ensure that everyone has access to good water.

The tax that everyone pays to the Zuiderzeeland Regional Water Authority covers the resources and measures necessary to keep Flevoland and its occupants living, working and relaxing.